← All reviews
LG Energy Solution

LG RESU Battery Review (Philippines): Capable Battery, No Local Support

Published specifications for the RESU Prime 10H and 16H. A brand ships several series, so these figures describe this model and not every product the manufacturer sells.

Usable capacity
Roughly 9.6-16 kWh depending on model
Chemistry
NMC lithium-ionNot the LiFePO4 that BYD, Pylontech and Dyness use. NMC packs more energy into a smaller footprint but carries a higher inherent thermal-runaway risk, which matters for anything mounted indoors.
Depth of discharge
not publishedNot stated in the sources we checked.
Cycle life
not publishedNot stated in the sources we checked.
Warranty
10 years in markets where LG officially sells itNot in the Philippines, where there is no authorised claim path. Users in official markets have also documented slower than expected warranty and service response.
Safety history
2021 global recall on RESU10H, RESU10 and RESU13Over a documented fire risk. LG addressed it where it has an official presence, which depends on LG or a partner knowing your unit exists and being able to reach you.
Philippine channel
NoneNo official distributor, dealer network or regional presence. Any unit here has arrived through grey-market or informal import.

Source: LG Energy Solution RESU. Checked 2026-09-28. Manufacturers revise specifications between series without notice — confirm the figures for the exact model you are quoted before you pay.

What it does well

  • A currently sold product rather than a discontinued one: LG did not exit residential storage globally, and the RESU Prime 10H and 16H are still actively sold in the US and Australia.
  • NMC chemistry packs more energy into a smaller footprint than LFP, which is a real advantage where wall space is the binding constraint.
  • A 10-year warranty in the markets where LG officially sells it, backed by a manufacturer of genuine scale.

Where it falls short

  • No official Philippine distributor, so no authorised warranty, no guaranteed genuine parts, no certified installer who has serviced one, and no accountable party beyond whoever imported the unit.
  • NMC carries a higher inherent thermal-runaway risk than the LFP competitors, and LG issued a 2021 global recall over a documented fire risk on part of this lineup.
  • A recall notice or firmware fix depends on the manufacturer being able to reach you, which is exactly what no local presence makes impossible, and a grey-market unit may still cost as much as an officially distributed LFP battery.
Compare against the other 19 home batteries we have reviewed

How the RESU Prime 10H and 16H compares with the other home batteries we have reviewed. Listed in no particular order — this puts published figures side by side, it does not pick a winner. Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

RESU Prime 10H and 16H compared with the other home batteries reviewed on this site
ModelUsable capacityDepth of dischargeCycle lifeWarranty
RESU Prime 10H and 16H this reviewRoughly 9.6-16 kWh depending on model——10 years in markets where LG officially sells it
US-series (US2000 / US3000C / US5000)4.56 kWh (US5000)90–95%Up to 6,000 cycles5–7 years product
PowerBox Pro9.216 kWh90%6,000+ cycles10 years, throughput-based
Battery-Box Premium HVS / HVM and HVB—80–90%6,000+ cyclesHVS/HVM 10 years · HVB 15 years
Lite Home range4–24 kWh80%——
SE-G5.1 Pro-BAbout 4.6 kWhAbout 90%6,000+ cycles10 years
SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P9.6 kWh per module95%8,00010 years
LiTime 12 V, 24 V and 51.2 V LiFePO4 packs———5 years above 30 Ah, 3 years below
UP5000, UP6100 and stackable SSRE seriesAround 4.95 kWh on the UP500090%Over 6,000 at 90% depth of discharge—
51.2 V rack packs and 12 V 100 Ah unitsAround 5.1 kWh (51.2 V 100 Ah), around 10.2 kWh (200 Ah)———
Solar Master deep cycle (SM40 to SM200)Around 0.6 kWh (SM100), 0.9 kWh (SM150), 1.2 kWh (SM200)Around 50%—Local manufacturer warranty
EOS600, sold locally as MESLAAround 14-15 kWhAround 50%—2 years
Ritar Solar LiFePO4, and the separate VRLA and OPzV telecom line————
Sebang automotive lead-acid, sold as Rocket———Roughly 15 months private use
BMS boards and factory LiFePO4 packs————
SDA10-48100 and the wider LiFePO4 range————
Flooded, AGM and gel deep cycle—Around 50%——
Powerwall 313.5 kWh—Unlimited cycles under warranty10 years, at least 70% capacity retention
Stackable 48 V modules and 12 V portable packs——Over 6,000 on some models—
5.3 kWh modules, high-voltage stackable5.3 kWh per module———

Dashes are figures the manufacturer does not publish, not zeros. Where two products differ on a spec, which one matters depends on your roof and your usage — a higher efficiency panel earns its premium on a small roof and rarely on a large one.

LG Energy Solution’s RESU line is a real, currently-sold home battery — LG did not exit residential energy storage globally, and the RESU Prime 10H and 16H are still actively sold in markets like the US and Australia. The problem for Philippine buyers is much simpler and more serious than product quality: there is no official LG RESU distributor or region for the Philippines. Any RESU unit you find here has come in through gray-market or informal import channels, with no local authorized warranty behind it.

Chemistry and specs

RESU batteries use NMC (nickel manganese cobalt) lithium-ion chemistry, not the LiFePO4 chemistry that BYD, Pylontech, and Dyness are built on. NMC packs more energy into a smaller footprint, but it comes with a higher inherent thermal-runaway risk than LFP — a meaningful factor for anything mounted indoors. Capacity across the current lineup runs roughly 9.6-16 kWh depending on model, with a 10-year warranty in the markets where LG officially sells it.

The Philippines-specific problem

This is the part that actually determines whether RESU makes sense for you. LG has no official distributor, dealer network, or regional presence for RESU in the Philippines. Units that show up here arrive through informal importers, which means: no authorized local warranty claim path, no guaranteed access to genuine replacement parts or a certified installer who has actually serviced one, and no accountable party if something goes wrong beyond whoever imported the unit. A 10-year warranty is only as good as your ability to actually invoke it — and in the Philippines, for RESU, that path largely doesn’t exist.

The 2021 recall — worth knowing regardless of where you buy

In 2021, LG issued a global recall covering RESU10H, RESU10, and RESU13 units over a documented fire risk. LG addressed it in markets where it has an official presence, but that kind of safety issue is exactly the scenario where having zero local distributor matters most — a recall notice, a firmware fix, or a replacement program depends on LG (or an authorized partner) knowing your unit exists and being able to reach you. Even in markets where LG does officially sell RESU, users have documented slower than expected warranty and service response times. That risk is meaningfully higher, not lower, when there’s no official presence to fall back on at all.

Price

We could not confirm a reliable Philippine retail price for RESU units, since there’s no authorized channel setting one — pricing depends entirely on whatever a given importer is charging, which varies widely and isn’t something we can responsibly quote here. Budget for the possibility that a gray-market unit costs as much as an officially distributed LFP battery from BYD or Pylontech while carrying significantly more risk.

Where it falls short

No official Philippine distributor means no authorized warranty, no guaranteed parts supply, and no accountable local service path — full stop. Add the NMC chemistry’s higher fire-risk profile relative to LFP competitors, a documented 2021 recall on part of the lineup, and reports of slow warranty response even in markets where LG officially operates, and the risk profile stacks up quickly for a Philippine buyer with zero local backstop.

Who it’s best for

Honestly, hard to recommend for most Philippine buyers. If you already own a RESU unit imported through a trusted channel and have a specific installer who can service it, that’s a different conversation — but for anyone starting from scratch, the lack of any official LG presence here is a hard blocker, not a minor inconvenience. Buyers who want genuine LiFePO4 chemistry, an actual local warranty, and installers who’ve serviced the brand before are better off with Pylontech, BYD Battery-Box, or Dyness.

For background on LFP versus NMC and older chemistries, see LiFePO4 vs. lead-acid batteries, and if you’re still deciding whether a battery is worth adding at all, read is a solar battery worth it. See all battery and backup reviews.

Home storage battery brands with a Philippine channel

If LG Energy Solution is off the table because nobody local carries it, these are the home storage battery brands where we found a named Philippine party — a distributor, an official storefront, or a local manufacturer — that a warranty claim could actually be put to.

Brands with a confirmed Philippine supply channel, listed alphabetically. This records availability, not quality.
BrandAvailable throughOur review
DynessIAN Solar and Photonergy—
Freedom WonPhilSolar (Lite Home 5-80 kWh)read
LVTOPSUNABC Solar Electronics, Talisay City, Cebu—
MotolitePhilippine Batteries Inc., domestic manufacturermade in the Philippines—
PylontechIAN Solar and PhilSolar—
TrojanYHI Philippines Inc., master distributor—

Channels last verified 2026-08-16. Distribution agreements lapse without notice — we have already seen one distributor drop three brands and another let its site go dark — so confirm the brand is still carried before you pay for anything. A brand missing from this table has not been confirmed as unavailable; it means we have not verified a channel for it, which is a different claim. Where we have verified that a brand has no local channel, it has its own review saying so.

Get free quotes for your home

Tell us your monthly bill and we’ll help you find quotes — no obligation.

Get quotes using LG Energy Solution
/ month
₱1,500₱25,000+
System size
5kW
Price range
₱250k–400k
Monthly savings
₱6,500
Payback
~3.2–5.1yrs

Estimate only — actual price depends on your roof, brand, and installer. Expect realistic bill reduction of ~90%+, not 100%. Final numbers come from an installer’s own site survey.

Step 1 of 3 — Your estimate

What’s your roof like, and where are you located?

Helps installers scope your system and mounting correctly. No commitment.

Where should installers send your quotes?

Last step — takes about 20 seconds.

We help you find quotes — not a call center. No spam calls, no fee to you. Compare what comes back and choose, or walk away.

Free. No account needed. Takes about 60 seconds.

Get free quotes