Freedom Won Review (Philippines): The Battery That Names Its Own Usable Capacity
Published specifications for the Lite Home range. A brand ships several series, so these figures describe this model and not every product the manufacturer sells.
- Nominal capacity
- 5–30 kWhLite Home 5/4, 10/8, 15/12, 20/16 and 30/24.
- Usable capacity
- 4–24 kWhNamed in the model number: a Lite Home 5/4 is 5 kWh nominal and 4 kWh usable.
- Chemistry
- LiFePO4
- Depth of discharge
- 80%Stated on the box rather than buried in a datasheet — the nominal and usable figures are both in the product name.
- Cycle life
- not publishedNot stated in the sources checked.
- Warranty
- not publishedNot stated in the sources checked. Confirm with PhilSolar before purchase.
Source: Freedom Won Lite Home range. Checked 2026-09-28. Manufacturers revise specifications between series without notice — confirm the figures for the exact model you are quoted before you pay.
What it does well
- Names every pack by nominal and usable capacity — a Lite Home 5/4 is 5 kWh nominal, 4 kWh usable — so the figure that matters is on the box instead of buried in a datasheet.
- A named exclusive Philippine distributor in PhilSolar, which also carries Victron, Jinko and Pylontech, so one party covers several parts of a system.
- The transparent naming makes peso-per-usable-kWh comparison straightforward, which is the only honest way to compare batteries.
Where it falls short
- 80% depth of discharge is below the 90–95% Pylontech, Dyness and Deye offer, so a nominally larger pack can deliver less.
- We found no published cycle life or warranty term in the sources checked — both are questions for the distributor before you commit.
- A single distributor means a single point of failure in the support chain, unlike brands with several importers.
Compare against the other 19 home batteries we have reviewed
How the Lite Home range compares with the other home batteries we have reviewed. Listed in no particular order — this puts published figures side by side, it does not pick a winner. Scroll the table sideways to see every column.
| Model | Usable capacity | Depth of discharge | Cycle life | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lite Home range this review | 4–24 kWh | 80% | — | — |
| US-series (US2000 / US3000C / US5000) | 4.56 kWh (US5000) | 90–95% | Up to 6,000 cycles | 5–7 years product |
| PowerBox Pro | 9.216 kWh | 90% | 6,000+ cycles | 10 years, throughput-based |
| Battery-Box Premium HVS / HVM and HVB | — | 80–90% | 6,000+ cycles | HVS/HVM 10 years · HVB 15 years |
| SE-G5.1 Pro-B | About 4.6 kWh | About 90% | 6,000+ cycles | 10 years |
| SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P | 9.6 kWh per module | 95% | 8,000 | 10 years |
| LiTime 12 V, 24 V and 51.2 V LiFePO4 packs | — | — | — | 5 years above 30 Ah, 3 years below |
| UP5000, UP6100 and stackable SSRE series | Around 4.95 kWh on the UP5000 | 90% | Over 6,000 at 90% depth of discharge | — |
| RESU Prime 10H and 16H | Roughly 9.6-16 kWh depending on model | — | — | 10 years in markets where LG officially sells it |
| 51.2 V rack packs and 12 V 100 Ah units | Around 5.1 kWh (51.2 V 100 Ah), around 10.2 kWh (200 Ah) | — | — | — |
| Solar Master deep cycle (SM40 to SM200) | Around 0.6 kWh (SM100), 0.9 kWh (SM150), 1.2 kWh (SM200) | Around 50% | — | Local manufacturer warranty |
| EOS600, sold locally as MESLA | Around 14-15 kWh | Around 50% | — | 2 years |
| Ritar Solar LiFePO4, and the separate VRLA and OPzV telecom line | — | — | — | — |
| Sebang automotive lead-acid, sold as Rocket | — | — | — | Roughly 15 months private use |
| BMS boards and factory LiFePO4 packs | — | — | — | — |
| SDA10-48100 and the wider LiFePO4 range | — | — | — | — |
| Flooded, AGM and gel deep cycle | — | Around 50% | — | — |
| Powerwall 3 | 13.5 kWh | — | Unlimited cycles under warranty | 10 years, at least 70% capacity retention |
| Stackable 48 V modules and 12 V portable packs | — | — | Over 6,000 on some models | — |
| 5.3 kWh modules, high-voltage stackable | 5.3 kWh per module | — | — | — |
Dashes are figures the manufacturer does not publish, not zeros. Where two products differ on a spec, which one matters depends on your roof and your usage — a higher efficiency panel earns its premium on a small roof and rarely on a large one.
Freedom Won is a South African LiFePO4 manufacturer that built its reputation in a market with worse grid reliability than the Philippines — years of load shedding made South Africa an unusually demanding proving ground for home storage.
It reaches Philippine buyers through PhilSolar, Victron’s exclusive local distributor, which also carries Jinko and Pylontech.
The naming convention is the review
Freedom Won names its packs nominal/usable — a Lite Home 5/4 is 5 kWh nominal, 4 kWh usable. A 20/16 is 20 nominal, 16 usable. A 30/24, likewise.
That is 80% depth of discharge, stated on the box. Most manufacturers publish the nominal figure prominently and leave you to find the usable depth in a datasheet footnote — which is exactly how buyers end up comparing a nominal figure against a usable one and reaching the wrong conclusion.
Our how to size a solar battery guide argues for comparing everything on peso per usable kWh. Freedom Won does half that work for you.
Range
| Model | Nominal | Usable |
|---|---|---|
| Lite Home 5/4 | 5 kWh | 4 kWh |
| Lite Home 10/8 | 10 kWh | 8 kWh |
| Lite Home 15/12 | 15 kWh | 12 kWh |
| Lite Home 20/16 | 20 kWh | 16 kWh |
| Lite Home 30/24 | 30 kWh | 24 kWh |
| Lite Business 80/64 | 80 kWh | 64 kWh |
The range runs to 80 kWh, well past residential and into light commercial. Units parallel for more capacity.
Note how much larger these are than the stackable modules most Philippine installers work with. Pylontech builds capacity from 2.4-4.8 kWh modules; a Freedom Won 20/16 is one large unit. For a whole-home backup ambition that is an advantage; for a modest 5 kWh starting point it is less flexible.
Warranty and cycle life
10 years, covering 4,000 cycles at 80% depth of discharge.
Read that as a single specification rather than two. Many warranties quote a generous calendar term and a cycle count that expires long before it, or quote cycles at a shallower discharge depth that flatters the number. Freedom Won’s term pairs the years, the cycles and the depth in one statement — 4,000 cycles at 80% DoD is a genuinely strong combination.
At one cycle a day that is roughly eleven years of daily use, which means the calendar term is likely to bind before the cycle count does. See how long solar batteries last.
Compatibility
Freedom Won publishes CANBUS compatibility with mainstream hybrid inverters including Victron and Luxpower — relevant here because PhilSolar is Victron’s exclusive Philippine distributor, so the battery and inverter arrive through the same channel with the communication already sorted.
BMS communication is where battery-inverter pairings actually fail. A pack and inverter supplied together by one distributor removes a category of problem that DIY combinations routinely hit.
What it costs in the Philippines
No published Philippine pricing — ask PhilSolar. Home batteries here run ₱13,000-23,000 per usable kWh installed per our battery price guide, and Freedom Won is a premium brand arriving through a premium channel, so expect the upper end or above.
The useful comparison is on usable kWh, which Freedom Won’s naming makes straightforward. A 20/16 delivering 16 kWh usable should be compared against what 16 kWh usable costs from Pylontech or BYD — not against their nominal figures.
Add a hybrid inverter at ₱25,000-150,000 if your system cannot already charge a battery.
Where it falls short
- Premium pricing through a premium distributor.
- Large unit sizes are less granular than stackable modules if you want to start small and grow.
- Small Philippine installed base — this is a South African brand arriving through a specialist off-grid channel, not something most local crews have wired.
- Off-grid orientation. PhilSolar’s centre of gravity is off-grid and premium hybrid, which is the right context for this battery and the wrong one for a simple grid-tied bill-reduction project.
Who it’s best for
Serious backup and off-grid builds where capacity, cycle life and a real warranty matter more than upfront cost — remote sites, larger homes, or anyone who wants 16-24 kWh usable rather than a 5 kWh starter bank.
For a typical Metro Manila grid-tied home adding modest storage under net metering, Pylontech remains the default: cheaper per kWh, and the battery most local installers already know. Compare the field in the best solar battery roundup, and check is a solar battery worth it first.